Graphics Designer..

Discussion in 'Pandora's Box' started by Tonyizzle, Nov 13, 2008.

1. Im actually taking classes for it now :D

2. How do you like them?

3. One of my buddies is going after this too. He's already landed a job making about $11 an hour, basically just drawing shit all day.

It's a pretty sweet career, I'd say. I'd look into it if I wasn't so artistically challenged.

4. a lot of ppl are going into that field and i don't think will be enough jobs for everyone

5. Maybe not everyone.. but for those who are serious about it and are talented at it I think there will be plenty. Afterall the internet is only becoming more and more popular each and every day.

6. Well Tonyizzle, I have had a few years of experience doing professional design work and I didn't enjoy it at all. I'm sure I have a different design mentality and social interaction than you, though, so you might still enjoy doing it. The only good thing about it was that I was able to pay for most of my tuition for the school I'm going to now with the jobs I did then.

I worked for three years doing business cards, presentations, mailers, signs, illustrations, websites, and my area of specialty, 3d animation. Now with the non computer stuff, the clients aren't too bad, they don't pay well, but at least they grasped the process. On the other hand, anything that is done with the computer, clients are total bitches who don't understand a damn thing. They think that computer=automatic and easy. Since they have no idea about the process and backend work that goes into websites and animations, their demands are usually ridiculous.