Grasscity - Cyber Week Sale - up to 50% Discount

Good & Evil

Discussion in 'Philosophy' started by CannabisPlants2.0, Oct 14, 2022.

1. To me, these terms are ambiguous and vary based on an individual’s beliefs. If you strip away unproven ideas what can we truly tie Good and Evil to? In my mind the only answer is that Good and Evil are synonymous with Love and Hate.

convince me I’m wrong

• Like Like x 2
  2. Good and Evil are synonymous with Democrats and Republicans.
    Guess which one is which.

• Funny Funny x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Can't convince you you're wrong as I agree with you. I'm not good at playing devil's advocate.

• Like Like x 2
  4. of course "good" and "evil" are ambiguous. they are inherently relative terms. their definitions depend upon personal morality and subjective experience. as such, they cannot be "truly" tied to anything.

if by "truly" you mean "objectively," the current perceived closest "objective" idea of "good"/"bad" you can try to suggest is one that is based on community. and that opens an entirely new can of worms

• Like Like x 2

5. Interesting thoughts. Yes I clarified the obvious a bit. By truly I suppose I mean to the best of our ability. That’s all we can ever do isn’t it? Our best. So my question to you is, are you disagreeing that the terms good and evil are synonymous with love and hate? Can you explain what you mean by basing good and evil on community? I would agree with that idea in the aspect that a good moral guideline to fall in place with community is the Golden Rule. Treat others how you want to be treated. I hold the belief in this moral guide as well as my previous mentioned thoughts.

6. Psychopaths are beyond both. Lucky bastards.

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. Intriguing… does a psychopath understand love and hate? How does this apply to them? I must ruminate