Good cheap material for led light frames.

Discussion in 'Do It Yourself' started by Tbone Shuffle, Feb 4, 2019.

1. Angle aluminum is fine but it can get a little pricey. I happen to do flooring for a living and I had a brainstorm about these metal tile transition strips I use. I screwed a simple frame together for some lights I have and thought I could share.

https://www.lowes.com/pd/schluter-s...MI_6f92ouh4AIVB8NkCh2USgjIEAQYASABEgLt6PD_BwE
    [​IMG]

You could just use the boards for the cross members if you're using them to build frames for board based leds.

• Like Like x 3
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  2. They're plenty strong when put on edge for 4ft or so and the built in holes make hangers easy. They are also very light.

• Informative Informative x 1
  3. Those look easy to use. I have seen a few use shelf brackets before; but they are heavy.
    20180818_183456.jpg

• Like Like x 1
  4. interesting. a few months ago I was looking at a cross member piece from a suspended ceiling - kinda similar cross profile and very lightweight, like these transition strips.
    lots of holes in the ceiling strips also which I think is what probably caught my attention to it. Didn't use it at the time because I'd already used the "normal' aluminum angle strips but was thinking "next time I build a light...."

and hey, you do flooring? I thought you were an electrician.
    or are you one of those really talented guys that knows how to do friction' everything around the house no matter what? :)
    general handyman type?
    wish I had that knowledge.... i touch anything here in the house generally and I have to call a repairman to fx the bigger mess rather than the smaller mess I started with.
    Ironically....I'll take a classic car apart and restore it and put it back together again with no problems, but give me a household repair and it's better to call the repair guy in BEFORE I try to get involved....