Germination

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by Monk, May 9, 2006.

1. Hi, I'm a complete beginner in this "business" (well I germinated some seeds in the old days but let them rot during vacation :(). Now I seem to have some problems germinating them. I have White Widow seeds (the ones in the old days were Holland Hope). I use soil from my mother (she is a florist) but the NPK is different then the one suggested here, the ratio is like 12-18-24 orso. We got about 5 different soils and all of them have a ratio with Potassium the highest. If this is the porblem then I will go buy some new soil but to be sure I'll tell my whole set up. So I've put like 3 seeds in a pot with a diametre of like 6 inch. All 1/3-1/2 inch deep. I got a light of 120W on it (to keep the soil warm), and I've put some plastic foil over the pot so the "water" can't escap, it just drops back into the soil. But after a week they wouldn't germinate. Tips and explanations are very welcome! Don't be soft with me ;).

I also got 3 seperate little cereal pots :) and I've put some wet (not to wet though, not dripping) tissues (cloth) in them and in each pot 3 seeds. I've also put some plastic foil over them to keep the water in (but I've put some tiny wholes in them for Oxigen). I keep them in the shadow (actually in the dark). I hope these will germinate. If I'm doing this wrong aswell please comment. Thx in advance.
    Greets

2. turn that light off. you don't want to dry out the soil, and it can stay moist for long enough. just put them somewhere warm and dark... if you have a room that has no A/C or a garage maybe... a drawer there would be good. or just inside of a blanket somewhere. they don't need light immediately, so if they've been sprouted for day or so before you notice it won't be that big of a deal, they'll still be okay. just check them once a day, and once you see them up above the soil then take the wrap off and give them some light.