Germination question (Cup of Water method)

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by killakam, Oct 14, 2010.

1. Hey guys,

I put my seeds in their respective cups and set them in my dark closet to germinate. It has been about 21 hours now and they still haven't sunk. Should I go ahead and put them in paper towels? or should I stick with it and hope for the best?

This is my first time germing seeds, and I'm being cautious.

Any help?

2. take your finger and push the seeds about a inch or 2 under water. if they sink there ready. sometimes they take in water but still have a lil air in them and still float, doing this will push the last lil air out of them.

3. #3 killakam, Oct 14, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 14, 2010
    okay, i'll give that a shot. I had read that this can help, but when i tried it i just kinda poked them.

EDIT: worked like a charm. two of the seeds have the root tip exposed too! Grow journal to follow! I feel like a kid on christmas day.

4. that will work, poke the about half way or even to the bottom of the glass. if there not ready they will float up fast. if they are they will sink or float in the middle

5. i took my seeds out of the water after 18 hours even though they didnt sink, put them in the wet papertowel on a heating mat, and the taproot came out within 15 hours of papertowling them.

I've also just put them right in the papertowel. both methods worked fine for me.

6. I'm a 40-year grower, and this put the seeds in a dark place is all wrong!