Germination problem

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by FRANMACHINE, Nov 25, 2014.

1. #1 FRANMACHINE, Nov 25, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 25, 2014
    Greetings Grasscity Community, 

I am a newbie grower having problems with the germination stage. My seeds are almost 2 years old but they were kept in a cool, dark place. 

I have 2 mediums; paper towel (3 seeds) and a glass of distilled water (4 seeds) maintained at 28 degrees Celcius (I live in a avery hot country) were the techniques/mediums I've used.

It has been 48 hours and the seeds being germinated in the glass of water has not sprouted at all. For the paper towel medium, it has been 24 hours and still also no signs of growth. 

I was told that within 48 hours, there should be signs of growth. If not, it means the seeds are useless? 

Are there any mistakes in my procedures? Comments and suggestions would be greatly appreciated! [​IMG]

2. #2 ambercolt05, Nov 25, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 25, 2014
    Well what I did for mine that were old was I cut a square of sandpaper and rolled it up, used my fingers as stoppers. Put the seeds in and gave them a good shake for about 10 seconds. By doing this it scares the seeds shell just a little bit, enough to scrape it but gentle enough to not damage the embryo then I put the seeds in a glass of water. By scarring the seed first before the shot glass method it allows the water to penetrate faster. I only kept it in the water until it sank or for about 6 hours just so that the excessive water didn't damage the seed. After that I stuck it into my growing medium which was a soilless mixture.
    I got the most results out of this. I tried the paper towel method before and it damaged my roots or it took a lot longer to sprout.