germination idea

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by SupaShady, Feb 13, 2004.

1. just yesterday i started a few seeds germinating, but i am trying a method i kind of though of.

if you know what a jello shot container looks like, I am using two of those. the bottom plastic container has holes poked in it and shredded paper towel in it about half an inch thick. the other plastic container is set up the same way, but with a lid and the seeds resting on the paper towel. the plastic cup with the seeds in it rests on top of the other plastic cup. the whole tower is sitting in a pan of water. i have a light on the setup so that the lid will hold condensation and keep the chamber moist.

so far, the paper towels are staying wonderfully moist. the only time i have to mess with the setup is when I am adding more water to the pan. I can see the seeds from the top so I know when the husk is split.

as an amateur, i don't know how light and heat will affect the seeds. the ambient temp in the system is probably around 80 degrees. the light right now is constant, but i can fluctuate that easily.

let me know what you think about the idea and if it has any shortcomings that i haven't realized.

G's up, Ho's down.
    ~shady

2. i love seeing and hearing all the different weird and wonderfull ways of germinating seeds,

i'm a bit of an old fashioned grower, i just pop them in the soil, and low and behold.......they grow!.......lol..........but if it works, that's all that matters..........Peace out.........Sid

3. a diagram of how the setup is, if my description wasn't good enough

Attached Files:

4. _______________
    }{}{}{}{}{}{{}{0)
    ¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯

just giving it a try, but I am trying to germinate another by using the plastic from a cigar. i put the seed in the plastic, rolled a paper towel and inserted it snugly into the cigar plastic. the paper towel hangs out of the cigar plastic and i have the paper towel resting in the same pan of water.