Germenation problems..

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Outdoors' started by mistertoke, Aug 1, 2010.

1. Im new to growing. I smoke the herb and love it and i decided to experiment with growing with some bag seeds. But every time i get my plants about 3 inches tall they shrivel up...Im growing them outdoors and its usually about 80 degrees here. I give them the recomended amount of water but they still seem to vanish after they hit 3 inches. I germenate them in a plastic bag then transfer them into a pot with my homade fertilizer. They get plenty of sunlight. The only thing i find unusual about the growing process is that the soil gets really warm sometimes. Is this good or bad? Please help :smoking:

2. so what's this have to do with germination? aren't you successfully getting sprouts, they just die before growing to big?

What soil are you using? A lot of people also don't recommend using any ferts untll about 3 weeks into growth.

Do you check to make sure your soil is dry before watering again?

3. I just thought this had to do with me doing somthing wrong during the germenation process...the soil is pretty much dry when i water it theres just a few damp spots that arent that big. I have it in a pot hidden by a lil tall grass it gets plenty of sunlight. But when i come out to check on it i feel the soil and its very warm.

4. They could be drying out. In Summer heat it can happen pretty quickly. Unless you're using mild organic fertilizer, hold off until you get to four sets of true leaves. Otherwise, they will burn the little seedlings.

5. yeah, my guess is the fertilizer. Hold off on it until it gets around 4 leaf sets like pinkpipe said. Or at least 3 weeks or so into veg.