Garage Grow

Discussion in 'Do It Yourself' started by Starvethewolf, Jun 8, 2011.

1. I am completely new to this, but have been doing my research. Unfortunately, research only goes so far, and I would love to hear some wisdom from someone more experienced.

I was thinking about putting an 8x8x7 tent (flowering) and a 4x8x7 tent (Veg/Clones) in my garage. The grow tent sounded like a great idea, put the 8x8 is $600 alone, and that's more of a hit than I'd like to take. As it is, I worry my lights are going to cost me around $1000.

I'm considering building my own room within the garage, but I have some concerns. I would have to build a ceiling (the garage door's track would run above it) for sure, but is a floor necessary? I'm pretty sure I want a soil grow this time (maybe bags?)

I live in CA, and the weather can be down in the 30s in the winter and over 100 in the summer. The home is new, but I'm not sure if the garage is insulated. If I build a room, do you think I need to insulate the room?

I plan to run A/C units in there as necessary, and have air-cooled hoods on the lights. Obviously there will be ventilation in and out, hooked up to a carbon filter. How important is a humidifier?

For the 8x8 flowering room, I would guess there would be 5x5 worth of actual plant space. Should I run 1x1000w, 2x600w, or 2x400w?

I plan to run t5 Florescents in the veg room. One 4' over the clones (in a tray? suggestions?), one 2' over three mothers, and a 4' over vegging plants.

Any construction advise would be much appreciated. Honestly, any tips at all would be great! Thanks.

2. I'm now thinking of building a room, wood frame and drywall. Furthermore, I'm considering putting it on wheels (in case anything ever happens to the garage door and I need to fix it).