Galvanized Nail technique.

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by RedganjaDown, Jan 15, 2018.

1. We shall see on this experiment. A friend who grows great cannabis in Arizona told me about this trick. It has to be a galvanized nail though because it is the zinc that causes the flowers to crystallize and get real sticky. I've never tried it before but I trust the grower who told me about this trick. I only did it on 3/5 of the plants.

Attached Files:

2. Any actual thought process behind this or just a gimmick?

Ez

Sent from my iPhone using Grasscity Forum

• Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. I don't know. The guy told me about it grows really awesome Cannabis. He gave me this trick but told me to keep it close. It has something to do with the zinc content of the galvanized nail. Evidently Zinc, as a trace element, causes a reaction which puts the plant into some sort of defensive safety reaction which causes the accelerated crystal and flower swell. I guess I'm going to find out. The nails are sealed and they're good. I drilled a very small hole and then put the nail through so it would be sealed completely.

Attached Files:

4. #4 Black-Syth, Jan 16, 2018
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2018
    Hmm....

I just don't understand how the plant would absorb zinc through damaged cell walls more effectively than through roots.

Also, plants don't have immune systems... and I'm presuming the salt levels in the plants themselves are quite low so I don't see how you'd be dissolving zinc for uptake into the plant.

• Like Like x 1
  5. Apparently it’s supposed to quicken flowering time and the stress from the nail going into the plant causes it to grow like crazy.

Never done it before, that’s just what I got out of a quick google search. I don’t think the zinc has as much to do with it compared to the shock from being, what’s the word, impaled

• Like Like x 2