First Time Hydro Grower Wants to Do It Right

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by Richie_J21, Dec 31, 2014.

1. Hi Gang, newbie here that needs expert advice!

I'm tired of not knowing what kind of bud I'm buying, so I've decided to build a small hydroponic grow box in the closet in my home office and grow my own. My goal is to be able to harvest 2-4 oz of killer bud every 2-3 months. I only want to grow enough for my own personal use and to share a little bit with close friends. I have a lot of questions, though, and could use some expert advice.

Space:
    My interior closet dimensions are 60" wide by 22" deep by 96" high. I want to split it into a 4' vegetative box on bottom which will hold 2 mothers and clones (I've decided to start with White Widow and AK-47), and a 4' flowering box on top for 3-4 budding plants.

Water:
    I want to put a top drip system in the veg room, which will hold my mothers and clones. I'll put an ebb and flow system in the flowering box. I'll put my reservoirs on the bottom of each box with the plants above. This should be the most space effective solution.

Lights:
    Since space is a premium, but I still want to be able to adjust the distance between my plants and lights, I'm going to make the lights stationary, but build adjustable shelving so that I can move the plants up and down inside the box as needed. With the lights fixed to the top, the reservoir fixed to the bottom, and adjustable plant height, I figure I should have 30-32" of grow space.

I'll use florescent tubes on an 18/6 cycle in the veg box and an HPS light on a 12/12 cycle in the flower box.

Air: