First time growing.

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by Averagejoetryntogro, May 5, 2016.

1. Hey guys. This is my first time growing. I have wanted to try for a while, and I did a lot of reading to determine what my approach was gonna be. I started off with my own mix of vermiculite, peat moss, and perlite. I transplanted into pro-mix hp about a week ago and gave it it's first feeding at the same time. I'm using general hydroponics 3 part system with cal-mag and unsulfered molasses to feed it. It's growing still, but the soil has been wet for 7 days. Is this normal? It looks like it's doing ok. I have 2 100w 6500k cfls on it right now on a 19/5 light cycle. It's currently day 20 since it sprouted.

Attached Files:

• Like Like x 1
  2. Plant looks fine...doesn't look over watered but wet soil for a week with no watering is a little long. You added perlite in your mix and pro-mix has a good amount so medium drainage should be fine unless.....you added too much vermiculite. Too much vermiculite can cause too much moisture retention. If you do transplant again throw in a little extra perlite but NO vermiculite. Keep the fan on it with a gentle breeze and think about possibly drilling some extra drainage holes in the bottom of the pot, and possibly just a couple small holes on the bottom half of the side of the pot.

Good luck

• Like Like x 1
  3. It looks fine. Don't water again till almost dry and go REAL light on the nutes initially.

• Like Like x 1
  4. I have my fan pulling air out. Should I turn it around and have it face the plant? And I think my first feeding was right around 240ppm and ph was about 5.8

• Like Like x 1
  5. Yes, if I were you I would have the fan pushing cool air in onto your plant. You'll wanna bring your ph up into the 6's. 6.3-6.8 is ideal.

6. I dont think ive ever heard of anyone using an odd number for light hours. Its always like 16,18,20,24. Looks like youve done your research and you know what youre doing