First grow, help needed

Discussion in 'Grow Room Design/Setup' started by Marqo, Aug 16, 2013.

1. Hello to everyone,
    I'm new to growing Marijuana and I was wondering if you guys could give me some advise.
    My main problem is space, I'm planning to grow behind my bedroom in a cabinet that is only 4.5 feet high and 5 feet wide but 13 feet long.
    So here is my first question, is it possible to grow the plants horizontally so I can use the whole length of the cabinet?
    My second question is about the lighting, I was thinking to use LEDs to save energy and to reduce the risk of fires but I don't know if they work or not. Has anyone ever used it? What are the results?
    Thank you for taking time to read and eventually answer to this post, I hope my english is understandable!
    Marqo

2. So far as I know there is no way to grow horizontally, the plant needs the natural upward growth; however, most indicas are short and bushy on their own, and there are modes of enticing outward growth rather than upward. A long-wise SOG of a bushy indica (or indica pheno) sounds like your best bet to me.

I looked into LED's and they are generally not liked by the growing community; as to why, I'm not fully sure, maybe someone else knows as I'm interested in knowing also.

In a cabinet I would be worried about ventilation and heat/fire.. It would be difficult to put any heat-bearing lights in such a confined space, particularly right behind where you sleep. Since it's such a small space a little heat will go a long way; look for a high-lumen, low-watt bulb and use CFL's for the rest of the space (the stronger the better, energy savings are still better with higher wattage CFL's).

Hope this offers a little insight!
    -LA

3. You could train the plant to follow along the floor.

4. Yo Marqo,

Your English is better than most people I see on forums, so you have nothing to worry about there.