First grow ever : Iced Grapefruit from female seeds

Discussion in 'Outdoor Grow Journals' started by Ketaminemine, May 21, 2016.

1. Hey guys,
    This is my first time growing. In the past years I've had a lot of success with tomatoes (I always get 7-8 ft plants) and I thought the next step would be to try to grow my weed. I'm a newbie but I've made lot of research and I'm a perfectionist, so I have high expectations. Plants will be on my balcony, so they will get a lot of care. I will grow Iced grapefruit from female seeds because I heard their strains were doing good in harsher climates. I live in Quebec (Canada) so our climate get quite cold and humid in late September-early October. I will try to update this journal weekly. My seeds were sowed on April 25 and they popped the earth 2 days later, so they are now a little more than 3 weeks old. Like I said, I searched a lot on the subject but I still have a couple of questions to be answered. I posted these questions in the outdoor grow section but so far nobody answered me, so maybe someone here will. I will just copy/paste what I wrote on my other thread:

1. I plan to do LST and topping to get bushier plants. My plants are now about 9 inches tall and they will be placed outside in medium pots in about 2 days. The thing is that I'm leaving for a trip from May 26 to June 12 and I'm wondering if I should bend them before I leave or wait till I come back. When I return from my trip, they will be transplanted in 12 gallons’ containers. I'm concerned that they will be too tall and too stiff to bend properly when I come back. From what I read, I also understand that when you start to bend the plant, you have to pay attention continuously and adjust the ties often. When I’ll be away, I’ll have someone at home to water the plants and look at them to see if they’re healthy but that person will not do the LST for me. For this reason, I don’t think it’s a good idea to bend the plant before I leave.