Finding a New Job

Discussion in 'General' started by DiGits, Feb 4, 2009.

1. I've been working at the same place now for about 2 years, and I hate it. I'm working at a local small restaurant and the only reason I got the job was being my moms friend started it, and needed help. She sold it, and now has a new owner, and I can't wait to leave.

My problem is that every job I've had in the past I've gotten because I knew the owner. Lately I've been looking for a new job, but it just seems like I'm doing something wrong, no ones calling me back.

I've applied to about 5 big stores around here (I'd assume they're constantly hiring, and firing because they have so many employees), a few of them even had "now hiring" signs up, and still do.

I handed in my application, and resume to the desk where I got the applications.

I have a good resume, employment history, and I'm available to work basically any day, at any time.

I don't know, maybe I'm just getting unlucky? Someone told me to ask for the manager, and personally hand them my resume. I don't know, if I'm just applying for part time that seems like a little much... I'd feel like I'm wasting the managers time.

Sorry for the kind of stupid problem, but I'm desperate to find a new job... I hate the one I have now.

2. I have had the same problem. You need to call THEM. You are looking for a job more than they are trying to hire, especially in this economy. Let them know you want the job by showing up in person and asking about it or calling them and asking about it. It won't hurt anything and if they aren't hiring they will tell you, if they are you should land a job. Also, you gotta apply to more than 5 places, try 25. The more places, the better your chances. Good luck and don't get discouraged.

3. You write very well, so I doubt that "seeming like a dumbass" is the issue.