ego death

Discussion in 'Pandora's Box' started by stanley2008, Sep 13, 2008.

1. Can someone explain to me in laymans(spelling?) terms what ego death is, I am very interested in the subject but I can't seem to grasp the concept from it's wikipedia articles and google searches, any help appreciated

Thx

2. I'm no expert on the subject, but I've read it most commonly comes through higher does of psychedelic drugs (another way is through meditation but you have to be pretty trained/experienced to achieve this state). Basically though, when ego death occurs, you loose just that; your ego. Your sense of self (your identity, etc), your connection to your external surrondings-dissolves. I've never experienced this (I'm a novice at meditation) but I could imagine it being as though time doesnt exsist, surrondings, memories dont mean a thing. Hard to put into words, or even fathom in a way, but from what I understand it can be somewhat freightening if one isn't prepared. Hope this helps man. I suggest checking out http://www.shroomery.org if you want more info. :wave:

3. #3 kinetic being, Sep 13, 2008
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2008
    Ego Death is the state in which all differentiation is exterminated, and there is no sense of "I" and "that," and everything is consolidated into blissful singularity.

In Hinduism, it is called Nirvikalpa Samadhi.

"Nirvikalpa samādhi, on the other hand, absorption without self-consciousness, is a mergence of the mental activity (cittavṛtti) in the Self, to such a degree, or in such a way, that the distinction (vikalpa) of knower, act of knowing, and object known becomes dissolved — as waves vanish in water, and as foam vanishes into the sea.[3] The difference to the other samadhis is that there is no return from this samadhi into lower states of consciousness. Therefore tis is the only true Enlightenment."

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nirvikalpa

4. rofl, you copy and pasted what he said he couldn't grasp the concept of.