DWC problems

Discussion in 'Hydroponic Growing' started by afry925, Jan 24, 2013.

1. It's my first time doing DWC and as soon as I topped my plant for the first time everything changed. The leaves used to be all dark green and perfectly flat (critical sensi star) and now they are a much lighter green with a lot of the leaves looking deformed. I'm using aurora soul synthetics as a base, cal-mag, hygrozyme, silica shield, orca, and fruit juice at 500 ppm in 2 gals and i'm in the 5th or so week of veg. I have topped a few more times and try to keep the pH around 6 but things are still looking weird. My water temp is 72 and about 80 at the top of the plant. The fan is sort of blowing the light around, but i'm not sure if that matters too much. I wish I had never topped at all because everything went down hill as soon as I did that. Also the roots have a brown coloration to them at the top and i'm not sure if this is attributed to the nutes I am using or root rot. There is no strong smell, and they aren't slimy so i'm hoping its just nutes. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Attached Files:

2. Looks pretty good. I'd consider lowering the pH to 5.5 and then let it drift up. Maybe you could just cut down on the silica to help with that?
    Do I see growstones?
    Might be worth trying to bring the temps of the room and res down a little?

3. Thanks man, I've actually been going down to 5.5 recently cuz it goes up so fast. I'll try cutting back on the silica. I don't have a chiller so I can't really get the res temps down. Im using those lava rock looking things...not sure if they're called grow stones. Thanks for ur help

4. #4 cdphalanx, Jan 24, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 24, 2013
    How fast does the ph go up? Like from X to Y in Z amount of time. I ask because I used to have similar issues and the plant can and WILL change the ph rapidly if she is displeased.

That pic you posted looks like the beginning of root rot.