Down Speed to ETA Issue

Discussion in 'Silicon (v)Alley' started by DonnyKepano, Dec 1, 2011.

1. Okay, so I'm not computer stupid but I'm not an expert either.
    I'm downloading an application through a torrent (uTorrent 3.0) and relatively well speeds compared to most people I know, but I know isn't that great either; avg. 19kB/s.
    That isn't as fast as I used to get when I first got Comcast and my new Vaio about a year back.
    The application is only 138 MB and the ETA is about 2 hours!
    I used to download GB files faster than that!!!
    However I'm pretty sure Comcast may have cut our bandwidth shorter or if my mom did something or our plan changed.
    But I would like to know what I can do to improve Down Speed and/or ETA for files, as well as if there may be a problem on my network or computer causing this.
    I will try to figure out more about our provider plan and helpful details but until then I would appreciate any suggestions and help. Thank you.

2. If you torrent alot then comcast may have throttled you. But check in the utorret setting under bandwidth. See if you changed the max down speed or something.

3. The way BitTorrent works, it downloads part of each file from anyone who has that part.

This means that your connection could be 1 Gbps, but if no one has the parts of the file you need then your download speed will be 0. Or if only 1 guy has it and his Internet connection has a slow upload speed, then his upload speed will be your limit.

See what I mean?

4. yeah all previous are true.

try playing with your settings
    reading the help files when you dont understand.

but i had problems with throtleing with comcast, they are rather selective they dont do it to every account it depends, mabey you cought there eye.
    i was fine with them for about a month then they would send false packets to my modem that would block the mac address of the computer i was torrenting from i would have to reset my connection every time.