Does this finger look broken?

Discussion in 'General' started by FartSmoke, Nov 20, 2011.

1. Hey there fellow blades, got in a motorcycle wreck and I was wondering if my pinky is broken. What do you guys think? 36 hours later and it's still pointing off to the side instead of straight, and it's really swollen and bruised.

Attached Files:

2. Looks pretty swollen. I don't think it's broken, it looks dislocated. But hey, I'm no doctor.

3. [quote name='"Parable"']Looks pretty swollen. I don't think it's broken, it looks dislocated. But hey, I'm no doctor.[/quote]

I would go to the doctor if I had health insurance, but I don't and I'm not gonna go for just a pinky. Haha

4. Can you move it at all?

5. No way to tell without touching it, but I wouldn't rule out broken. I've seen broken pinkies that looked much better than that.

If you don't want to pay for a hospital/doctor, make a splint at home and ice it. Have you just left it like that for the last 36 hours??

6. get a pic of your hand from the top so we can see how crooked it is, whether it needs to be set

7. Ive broken/jammed my fingers multiple times. The deciding factor is always whether you can move it or not the next day. Jamming your fingers can make them swollen as shit, and hurt really bad, which will make you think it's more serious than it is. I've even had jams where I couldn't move them for 8-10 hours, but by the next day I always could. You said this happened 36 hours ago, so if you can move them at all, you're good, if not they're broken.

Also, don't be a sucker and go to the hospital for a broken finger. They will tape your finger to a popsicle, charge you $500, and send you on your way.

8. Well, can you move it?

Regardless, I would go with a previous suggestion, which is keep applying ice, and definitely get it in a finger splint.

9. yeah it might be smart to get it set. but do u have any friends that are doctors or
    there parents that are doctors.