does doubling the light source means doubling the harvest?

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by NNorthernlight, Jan 5, 2012.

1. Hi GC... as in the title.... let's say I have 400 watts hps and I am used to certain results... if I add an extra light and get to 800 watts total, using my same routine (I guess extra care cooling down the room will be needed) should I expect a doubling in yield? :wave:

2. I believe it may increase your yield, but it surely won't double it. I'm no expert, though, this is just my common sense rambling. :smoke:

(I got here by clicking on New Posts.... just a bit lost) lol :rolleyes:

3. #3 RO76, Jan 6, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 6, 2012
    2 400W will cover bigger area than 1-400W, so you can grow more plants.
    Stronger light=bigger plants . Plant under 1000W HID will produce more than plant under 150W HID.
    Just compare grow journals with different HID lights....

4. thanks for the info but I had a different idea in mind... if I could get direct feedback from someone who doubled their light source it would be great info for me... I checked different journals in the past (I still do it every now and then) and of course bigger wattages give bigger yields.... the problem is that the data I gather is not comparable... many other factors like experience, strain etc play an important role too...... I would love to hear from a few people who switched from a certain potency and doubled it.... given the same strain, the same environmental conditions and especially the same grower then I would be able to get a sense of what can happen .... does it make sense?

5. So many factors are involved with increasing yields its not even funny. Nutes, organic, non organic, lights, pot size, and most importantly you.

The only way to really attempt is for you to try. For the most part on here money is a issue for everyone so most don't switch add this or that in a rapid fashion to get any accurate data.