Do you think strain names really matter if you arent from a medical state?

Discussion in 'General' started by dkd24, Apr 28, 2012.

1. So i was picking up some bud today and a kid who doesn't really smoke much asked if I could pick him up a g. I said sure and he asked if i knew what strain it was and I said that I don't really care or ask what the name is because most of the time I feel like its its been made up somewhere down the supply chain to help it sell better.

I've been smoking for over 5 years and by now I can tell if the buds are dank from looking/smelling etc., and obviously smoking them if my dealer offers to smoke me up. So in the end, as long as I deem the bud to be pretty high on the quality meter I dont really care what its called.

He said he thought that was stupid, and that you should get a name as much as possible because you might run across higher end strains and be able to appreciate them. I can see his point if you are from a Medical state, and i definitely would keep track of names if I was getting it from a dispensary, but being from Mass. I feel like a good amount of the time someone has just slapped a strain name on there to help it sell better.

SO my question to you blades who arent from medical states, how much faith do you place in the names of the bud you are getting, or are you like me and dont care what its called as long as its dank?

2. I'm in a mmj state but who I buy from has no connections with mmj and I kinda trust strain names what I've bought from him compares to what i find on the internet and what I've gotten from other dealers so I do like to know the name

3. nope names are just a title i could give 2 fucks less bout names cuz for all u know its not even what it supposivly is therefore names arent something to go by i look at how crystaly it is how sticky it is the smell and color :D tokes to ya!

4. Names don't matter to me anymore. I go for the smell and looks of the bud.