DIY t5 4 Lamp 54 Watt HO 2ft or 4ft $70

Discussion in 'Do It Yourself' started by blacknapkins, Nov 16, 2011.

1. Ok here we go. start by getting high. good. We all know the benefits of t5 lamps, and the nice thing about this one is you save a little money, and it's all top of the line and very heavy duty- much higher quality than an HTG setup. T5s are known for their their low heat, and high lumen-to-watt ratio. basically these CRUSH cfl and similar results to HID are definitely achievable through the ability to move this light seriously like 1/2 and inch from the canopy. In SOG, these DESTROY hps not just IMO but as a fact. the coverage is just ridiculous.....ok ready?

now listen here: i am a journeyman electrician with years of experience and i can say that this is the safest, most idiot proof guide there is to messing with something that IS VERY dangerous. DON'T SKIP OVER THIS WARNING.

if not done properly this can cause a fire, so I am going to show you the way to do this up to the 2011 code, and if you chose to do any other variation thereof that is your (terrible) decision.

pretty much anyone can do this
    correctly with the following tutorial.

Materials

1 4-lamp t5 54W HO Ballast [ame="http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0018RA46Y/ref=oh_o06_s00_i00_details"]Amazon.com: Advance 04786 - ICN-4S54-90C-2LS-G-35I T5 Fluorescent Ballast: Home Improvement[/ame]

8 t5 Lampholders [ame]http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002ZPGLUG/ref=oh_o05_s00_i00_details[/ame]

sheet metal screws

sheet metal

more later, im going to go take pictures and such

2. #2 greedyfly2k11, Nov 17, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 17, 2011
    lets see some pics and some directions....

3. I'm stoked to see this.

4. oh well sounded good....

another dead thread

5. #5 blacknapkins, Nov 25, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 25, 2011