DIY: Low Maintenance Cloning Method - Perlite Cloning - Two to Three Weeks - Less than $50

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by baconman1945, Jul 7, 2019.

1. This method is nothing new -it was originally posted on another forum in 2005- but I feel that it might be appreciated here.

I've been growing successfully for a few years now with some great harvests -nothing I'd consider 'world class' but definitely a few great harvests. One area that I've struggled is cloning. It's frustrating when every attempt ends in damping off or mold. I had fluke success once with one cutting, which was how I maintained a mother plant for a short while, but I had taken at least a dozen cuttings and one rooted :bang: I've tried DIY aeroponic, rapid riot cubes, aloe and straight to living soil. Very little success or confidence until recently.

I did not create this method of cloning. Grat3fulH3ad, a former user of another forum, posted this method on that forum. Their account has since been unregistered so their posts are labelled as guest, but fortunately, their pictures are still up. I briefly searched GC for Grat3fulH3ad's name to see if this method had been shared on the City, and none of the results were related to cloning. I searched 'cloning' and the only posts somewhat related to this method of cloning were questions that would've been answered by this post. I hope that some of our blades and frients find it helpful.

I'll insert the original posts and some of the responses within quotes, and I'll add my experiences at the bottom. I got too excited and forgot to take pictures of the beautiful, several inch long trail of roots, but fortunately, Grat3fulH3ad's pictures have that covered.