DIY Dual CFL Bulb Reflector/Hood?

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by AE86Trueno701, Nov 4, 2016.

1. I'm a bit of a newbie here, but I was beginning my newest grow and I have settled on using those large CFL's in the range of 150-250w, but my question is this. I have seen dual bulb reflectors and hoods for air cooled bulbs, like MH and HPS setups, but my question is has anybody ever attempted to construct a dual bulb reflector for CFL's? It may be that it's just not efficient enough or generates too much heat without help from ducted cooling, but basically, I'm building a small cabinet, about 2.5 ft high, 2 ft wide, and a foot deep, about 2 sq ft in terms of light footprint. I estimate that even just buying a single lamp and reflector and calling it a day I'd still be just under 5000 lumens per sq. ft, but with two 125's, or 1 250w I can be well over 5, almost into the 7500 range. It's about 4.5-5 cu ft. give or take so my plan was to cut holes for an active intake system, and doing a diy carbon filter for the exhaust using small computer fans, I'm not entirely 100% on the efficiency of those types of DIY setups, but I've seen multiple threads on other sites of mixed reviews on whether the system works to harvest or not, depending on strain, and cu ft of the grow area, if anybody has any insight on this I'd welcome any, but failing that I plan on installing a few of those odor eating CFL's towards the top of the cab just to be on the safe side, and if I have to go even further using ionizers (Also, not a whole lot of experience using those anybody have any tips or info, fell free to chime in). In lieu of the fact that I have very little space to work with, I may have to end up routing the carbon filter and exhaust up into the drawer above it to save on space. Plan on doing a simple soil grow, with organic nutrients and this will be my first attempt at scrog, wanna try three, but I'm on the fence on how many due to the nature of scrogging. Thanks i