Could I grow one plant with a 50 watt CFL?

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by TheSurveyMr, Feb 20, 2009.

1. I'm a beginner, but I'm thinking no. I made a CFL lamp made out of a power strip, bulb 'splitters' from home depot to plug two bulbs into one outlet on the power strip. I ended up fitting about 10 23 watt CFL's on it = 230 watts of light. I made my own reflector out of emergency blankets (mylar) and yard signs. It was pretty ghetto, but I'm confident I could've grown four plants with it - it would just take awhile.

Here's a link to my grow journal - there are pics of the light in there:

http://forum.grasscity.com/indoor-grow-journals/313839-my-first-grow-attempt-post3604021.html

FYI - most people say the recommended amount of light is 100w for the first plant and 50w for each additional.

2. I stick with 100w per plant myself.

3. Agreed....minimum of 100w per plant. More light equals better bud.

4. I could be wrong but i remember thats the rule of thumb was 50 watts a square foot

5. Greetings:
    I'm a newbie and looking/researching the light options for my "poor man's" grow box. The box is 2' wide, 3' long, and about 2 1/2' high. I've got some auto flowering, dwarf plant seeds and I'm itching to get started.

According to the 50W per square foot rule, if I position three, 100W CFL's over my box, it should do OK,.... correct?
    BUT,... if three 100W works OK, which of the following options would produce a better yield?
    1) More 300W CFL bulbs?.... OR,
    2) The same amount of CFL bulbs, but greater wattage?

Thanks in advance for any feed back you can send my way,... once I get started, I'll post pics.
    mapmaker2

6. I could do it but it would be pathetic waste of time. You get what you give your MJ.

7. Mapmaker, no need to hijack someone else's thread, it's real easy to start your very own...

To the OP: is that 50 real watts of CFL or equivalent watts?