Cooking soil

Discussion in 'Growing Organic Marijuana' started by jblewballz, Dec 27, 2014.

1. Ok so my mix has been cooking in a 18 gal tub with lid. How often should i or shouldnt i mix it. I assume water as needed to keep damp but not wet. Also should it get warm and what does it mean if it isnt getting warm? One last one, should the lid have holes to vent or should be it be somewhat airtight, lid snapped on but it can barely breathe. Thanks. This is my first time using organic. Tired of ph,ing the water, adding nutes, blah, blah, blah

2. Leave cover off or plenty of air though holes.... Keep mildly damp, no need to mix, let the organisms make their little communities without disturbing them too much....

How long has it been sitting? Welcome to GCO!

3. Just since the 15th. Ok. I drill some holes, dont want to leave the lid off cause it reeks when i take the lid off. Lol. Thanks

4. Welcome to GCO!  (GrassCity Organics)

I wouldn't mix it a lot, you want the fungal hyphae to grow as undisturbed as you can.  But I do a mix mid way through my cycle just for good measure.  I mean you're gonna disturb it when you start to plant unless you cycle in your pots.

Damp is good yes.  And using an ACT (Aerated Compost Tea) in the beginning or anywhere along the cycle really is a good way to get things really going.  The boost of microbes from the tea never hurts.  (To my knowledge.)

Warm is good.  Hot isn't.  Warm means you've got a good batch of microbial activity breaking down your amendments.  Hot means you had too much unprocessed organic matter and that is being broken down by thermophilic bacteria.  Not warm may just mean your microbial activity is too low for you to detect.  I wouldn't worry about it as long as everything smells like good forest dirt.  What are the temps where it is sitting?

You don't need a lid, but having one would help keep in moisture.  But you want it loose fitting so air can move in and out freely.