Complete newbie looking for diy grow box plans

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by stillb, Dec 13, 2012.

1. Hey guys. I want to expand my passion and start growing for my own use. I have a dresser that would work perfectly for a stealth box, however, I don't have a clear idea of how I'm going to transform it into my grow box just yet. If you have any plans you'd like to share with pictures, please do! I'm pretty clueless on where to put the fans/lights in the stealth box and how to attach a carbon filter for smell. Hopefully by seeing some of your plans these questions will be answered. The last thing I need is to burn down my apt... :eek:

2. Hey Still, heres what I made for a DIY box...

[​IMG]

For info on the box check my sig.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Depending on what type of dresser it is, I would remove all the drawers and cut out the pieces of wood that seperate the drawers. (So the front where the drawers would pull out would be wide open. Then get a piece of 3/8 plywood and some hinges for a door. I used exterior door weather stripping for a gasket around the door and then I used a latch that would force the gasket to compress and seal.

Good luck, its a fun project!

3. Thanks guys! Nugget- how can I attach a filter to my dresser? Smell is a huge issue here.

4. you could put it offside to your light at the top and then have the fan outside pulling from inside. get a real filter and just be careful about the dimentions also very common is to have a cooltoobe or aircooled hood and have it pull air throgh the filter and then throgh the hood and finaly outside

5. I think I would need to have the fan on the inside of the stealth box to reduce the noise (and stealth). Are there any cooltoobe faq threads? I'm trying to see what my best option is. Ugh. This is going to be a difficult project.