College

Discussion in 'General' started by Excel, Jan 13, 2013.

1. \t\t\t\t\t\t\tWell, I'm a grade 12 student who wants to attend college next year. I can't go to Uni because I've taken all applied classes and it would be hard financially. I'm trying to debate between a school 10mins from me and one 2 hrs away. I don't like the social life I have around here and I think that if I stayed here I would just go to school, come home and do nothing (or go to work if I can find a job). There's a few people I know who live at home while going to college / uni and they say it's hard to meet people and generally still only talk to people they knew from HS. This school would probably cost me between 3k-3.5k. I also really don't like living at home but it's tolerable considering the money I would be saving. The school 2-3 hrs away on the other hand, seems to offer an amazing social life but at the price of Res (~7k / yr). This only includes a place to stay, a $1200 meal plan, and a bus pass. It would probably be somewhere around $12k for my first year and maybe a bit cheaper for the second year since I could live off campus. I'm very confused on which route I should take and deadlines are approaching quickly. The programs I'm interested in are Accounting (my main interest - just listing others incase someone has experience with them), Finance, Law Clerk, or Paralegal. Any advice you guys can offer on what I should do? I'm probably going to get about 1k because of how much my parents make + being the first person in my fam to go to college / uni. OSAP (Ontario Student Assistance Program) will loan me the rest of the costs and I will have to start repaying them 6 months after I graduate.
    Thanks in advance! \t\t\t\t\t\t​

2. If you have a good relationship with your parents stay at home.

Actually even if you just have a working relationship with them, stay in your hometown. It feels like home, plus if you need something you can go to your rents house.