Closet grow material, YES or NO and WHY

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by dimyself, Feb 13, 2009.

1. #1 dimyself, Feb 13, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 13, 2009
    So I know I keep posting these grow box threads and it's probably annoying some people haha, but I just want to make sure this material will work before I go buy//build it! It's easy, cheap,
    and light weight! Please tell me your thoughts or concerns! It's available at Home Depot. Would there be any problems using insulated material? Here's the material:

http://insulation.owenscorning.com/homeowners/insulation-products/foamular-150.aspx

2. I'm no expert, but I really don't think that it is at all possible to grow cannabis with discount airlines.

Hope this helps!

3. Also, it doesn't have to be this material. this just seemed like it would work well. I do want something light however and something I can make for somewhat cheap.

4. I would say NO(!) to building a growbox with that stuff... it looks like nothing more than industrial-sized styrofoam. You could do it, hypothetically, but it wouldn't be structurally sound at all.

Why not just buy low-grade plywood? You could construct a 4'x4'x2' box for under $50, I would imagine.

Why is the weight of your box an issue for you, if you don't mind my asking?

5. would this be any less stable than a grow tent?? Besides what is so heavy that it has to support? The lights would probably be the heaviest part. I could use ply... It's just more of a pain n the ass and more expensive. Plus if I want or need to move it, I would have to take it all apart just to move it

6. The problem is, it's styrofoam... you could nail it together, glue it, tape it, whatever... no matter how you put it together, all I see in your future is the box falling apart completely.

I don't think that just buying the wood would be that much more expensive. If you get the thinnest kind, it shouldn't be all that heavy.