Central Cal Weather & Early Flowering

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Outdoors' started by VapingAmy, May 27, 2019.

1. Hi,

Yes, I'm an outdoors newbie. I've been fairly good about reading these threads over the years. I've never had to actually post a question because eventually I have always found the answer. Well, not this time. Ha! I have found indirect answers, but I'm curious to know if there are others in my situation or have been in my situation- and would like to know what they decided to do.

I decided to do my grow outside for the first time here in Central Cal. Started by seed indoors back in mid March and put them outdoors in mid April. We get VERY hot weather here (triple digits on up past 110 degrees) usually by this time in May. Instead, for the first time in probably a decade, we have had cloudy skies, light to heavy rain, and temperatures dropping to 50's to 60's. This wouldn't be so bad for a few days, but we are going on a few weeks now. Everyone living in this area is shocked because this weather is unheard of this time of year. I do not think anyone in THIS area would have expected this, let alone plan for it. In hindsite, I would have brought them inside 2 weeks ago, but now we are passed that! I am absolutely positive my little crop isn't the only one out here suffering from mother nature. At least in my case it's a personal grow. I'm not sure what I would do if this was my business/livelihood.

My plants are currently sitting in 5 gallon fabric pots in an unobstructed FULL SUN area. After about 2 weeks of this cloud cover, rain, and dropping temps- one by one I have watched them go into flowering in the past week. At first I thought it was just pre-flower, but now it's clear they have moved on to flower.