Buddhism

Discussion in 'Religion, Beliefs and Spirituality' started by Durchii, Aug 10, 2005.

1. I have recently acquired a change in heart of religion and turned to a form of buddhism..I like the fact there are no creator gods, and you only seek to enlighten yourself by any means necessary, and do not follow what other people say if it isn't the way to do it for you. It's a very interesting religion and we meditate for some rituals through the year, its not like its required every day, its not even required at all. So respond and see if you would like to ask about it or look it up on the internet or the library. Or if anyone of you are buddhist as well.

Farewell.
    Peace.

2. How's it goin Durchii? I take to some form of buddhism as well. I'm currently studying Zen buddhism. Have you read any of the dhammapada yet? If not here's a link for you and all the Bodhisattvas out there. It's a collection of verses and sayings split into 26 chapters. All teachings of Siddhartha Gautama, the first man to reach buddha. In Tibetan Buddhism, a Bodhisattva is anyone who is motivated by compassion and seeks enlightenment not only for him/herself but also for everyone...

3. I'm gonna read it right away. I needed some sort of source to read, so thanks, m'friend. Lates.

4. Check out E-sangha as well. Pretty good buddhist community/forum.

5. I'm not Buddhist, but I practice meditation in either burmese or sitting zazen position by incense. Very natural way of relaxation, and I've found that smoking a J before starting has great effects.

6. I do yoga...

7. I believe in some concepts of Buddhism, also Toaism, I believe one can reach the first three stages of realization, but in todays world total buddhahood cannot be realized unless you live in a isolation area with no media.