Beginner, Grow space plan

Discussion in 'Grow Room Design/Setup' started by Noogly4, Jan 2, 2013.

1. Im an absolute beginner in growing, altough ive always been interested.

I have a nice closet, dimensions w49' x d22' x h81'. Theres a wall outletr in the center of the back wall.
    I dont know much, a basic understanding. Grew 2 plants in this closet. random bag seeds some, organic miracle grow, and a 120w grow light from home depot. I know nothing about lighting. I got about a quarter after 5 months haha. So im here. Im intrested in possibly going hydro but I dont know enough and dont have enough input to make a good choice, alls i know if i want to use the space as efficiently as possible.

So if you have any thoughts or suggestions please let me know.
    Thanks.

2. Hello Noogly :wave

You've come to the right place for great advice, GrassCity will take good care of your plants.

Start by researching through this sites Stickies, they're at the tops of each section. They are packed with solid information.

Light- HID, Flouro's, LED's. CFLs are the cheapest route but no where near as efficient as HID's.
    With CFLs you need 100 actual watts for one plant, 50 extra for each extra plant. So if you grew 3 plants, 200w would be the minimum. If you choose HID, a 400w will do for 1-4 plants. 600w, 2-6. 1000w, 4-8 plants.

Soil- Miracle gro is a no good for cannabis because of the time release fertilizer. You can not properly flush out the nutrients because the time release capsules open when you water. Foxfarm Ocean Forest or Roots Organic are quality bagged soils.

Nutrients- Plants need food to thrive. Again, Miracle Gro is a no go. The Foxfarm nutrient trio(Grow Big, Big Bloom, Tiger Bloom) is a great cheap nutrient lineup.