Beekeeping

Discussion in 'General' started by tsteed, May 12, 2011.

1. anyone here on GC keep bees?
    i help take care of bees at my community garden apiary and find it very interesting. i feed the bees sugar water daily and check up on their progress bi weekly or so.
    i am new to beekeeping and i just bought 2 new brood boxs of the langstroth standard 10 frame hive. i have 2 top covers 2 inner covers 2 bottom boards as well as the 2 brood boxs for starters.
    i have no bees thus far and its getting kind of late to buy them.
    im going to go to a local beekeepers meeting soon and there i will look for someone selling a nuc or package to fill one hive.
    the other hive i want to capture a wild hive from this giant old hollow tree at a friends house. any ideas as to how i can accomplish getting these feral or wild bees safely?
    i came up with the idea of buying a capped queen cell and inserting it in between 2 combs of wax/honey in the wild hive and when the virgin queen emerges maybe the hive will be forced to swarm and then i can capture them in a capture box scented with pheramone that tells the bees this box is a good place for their new home.
    will the pheromone i bought work?
    will the artificial requeening work in order to make the hive swarm?
    anyone who beekeeps id like to hear from you i am new and am learning slowly at the community garden apiary with the hive they have there.
    i hope to have 2 productive hives this season. one hive home to wild bees from here in NY and one hive home to italian or russian bees i hope to purchase from another beekeeper at the beekeepers club nearby.
    lets hear some advice for the craft!!:hello:

2. cmon theres gotta be a grass smokin beekeeper out there!!

3. Fuck that, I think bees are out to kill me.

What your doing is pretty interesting though, considering well yea, they're evil bees.

4. I keep my bees the same way I keep my weed, either in an airtight jar or on fire.