Bedroom Closet: Weed vs Clothes

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by sshamus, Dec 21, 2009.

1. New house, new closet, energy bills accomodated.

I was packing my clothes into the closet the other day when it dawned upon me, 'I could be doing something much more productive in here'.

I'm a total noobie to all of this (apart from the last 36 hours of study), so I'm going to run by the general plan & you guys can pick it apart.

Space:
    2 columns 2.5m high, 45cm wide & 45cm deep. I want to halve the columns so that there are 4 grow spaces 1.25m high.

How many plants can I grow in each space?

Light:
    1 x 400W HPS for each space. Contemplating some 400 MH for veg period, is there much benefit in your opinion?

Airflow:
    Passive intake, Active exhaust. Each space has a volume approx. 250 litres, what rate of airflow would be suitable for me?

Also considering a fan to blow the plants so that they grow stronger.

Soil:
    3 parts Peat Mix
    1 part perlite
    1 part worm castings
    1/2 cup sand
    1/2 cup of dolomite lime
    1/3 cup of guano
    1/4 cup Epsom salts

I pinched this recipe off an organic grower who looked good on paper. What's the consensus?

How can I manipulate my soil to have higher nitrogen in the veg period, & more phosphorus during the flowering period? Would I want to?

Can I start seedlings in a 5 gallon bucket so that they never need transplants?

Fertilisers:
    Not too sure about these. Can somebody give me the low down on what to use & when?

Watering:
    I've read varying reports, mainly telling me to do it only once a week. How often & how much?

Time:
    I want this to take no longer than 3 months.

Strains:
    I'm considering White Widow & Northern Lights because of potency & fast grow times. Any suggestions?

Thanks a bunch guys & girls, don't hesitate to chip in if you think you know better.

Really hoping to get these babies off the ground ;)