basic home studio setup

Discussion in 'The Musician in U' started by The Audion, Nov 29, 2012.

1. I play guitar, and my major is music recording. I would like to set up a very basic home studio, which could be interfaced with the studio at school (there they have a soundcraft analog board and an alesis hard disk recorder.)
    I know I'll get some flack for this, but I would rather NOT use pro-tools. In my opinion pro-tools has led to overproduced, auto-tuned, and just plain bad music. If anythings wrong with the performance, just fix it in pro tools. :rolleyes: From what I understand, some "musicians" these days won't even work with a studio if they dont use autotune. think I'm being ridiculous. well jack white doesn't use pro tools either. and lady gaga does.
    I'd like to stay analog if thats possible. I'm looking at this mackie analog mixer, 4 channels. pretty basic, maybe too basic? I'm not releasing tracks yet just improvising and recording at home and school. Then theres the question of what I'm recording on. anywhere you look its expensive. tape, very expensive, hard disk recorder, expensive.

what would you recommend for someone just starting out with recording, mixing, etc.

2. #2 Fritz Da Cat, Nov 30, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 30, 2012
    Just get a 8 track recorder. Cheapest way to stay analog. You could record at home then track everything out at school by bussing into the console.

and Pro Tools didnt fuck music up, its people in general who fucked music up.

Pro Tools is just a DAW like and other, Its how you use your tools and what you think sounds good.

If I had the money I would get a vintage Neve console, 24 track 2 inch reel to reel for tracking, a bunch of outboard pre amps and compressors/ eq/ fx and then a Studor 2 track 1/2 inch tape for mastering, and some good mic's,,, I can dream.

3. A USB interface, Shure SM57, and Cubase or Reaper.

4. could you give me an example? the only devices I've seen like that are digital.