Architecture...?

Discussion in 'General' started by ChelseaFC5505, May 3, 2010.

1. So, I'm sitting at my computer doing some rendering for my Architecture coursework, and it got my wondering if anyone on these forums was an architect \ mason \ contractor etc etc...

Or any younger high school aged kids curious about majoring in one of those fields...?

open to any and all discussion..

2. I'm a project manager, "jack of all trades" carpenter.

Whats up?

3. I've always like architechture, I had a friend who was very gifted at it, but sort of fell out of touch

4. Actually, I would like to know what courses are required for Architecture major. I'm a freshman, and can't decide over architecture or biology. I just recently got into architecture.

5. sorry, cant help you out there.

6. I love it, i'd like to go to school for it but i'm not sure if i'd make it.

but i am so interested by it. i love going in as many houses/buildings as possible. In the summers i dress up and go out looking at places that are for sale just to check them out. its impossible for me to sit anywhere and think the place is perfect, i'm always thinking of things that could be changed/added on to make a structure more efficient.

7. Sorry went MIA for a bit. lots of work recently.

Soo Fenton Mewley, what do ya wanna know. Like course requirements n stuff? or types of projects and stuff?

I gotta say its a VERY tough field to get into. You need ALOT of artistic talent to design. Not so much like sketching ability but creativity cos you gotta strong concepts behind every project.

Also, you better not like sleep. Architecture majors at every school don't sleep. I've been up 50-72 hours straight multiple times. It really starts to fuck with your head. Gotta have thick skin too, lots of criticism will be thrown your way. Critics are especially harsh on underclassmen to try and weed out the floaters. Massive dropout rates in 2nd and 3rd year.