any reason my ph is going down?

Discussion in 'Hydroponic Growing' started by holland1990, Jul 20, 2011.

1. First off just let me day this is my first hydro grow, ive been growing in soil for 4 years and wanted to switch it up. Anyways here's my situation. I have 20 low ryders growing on a ebb and flow system. The res is 18 gallons. The nutes are cns-17 grow and hygrozyme. I will be using bloom but not yet. The growing medium is rock wool and the table floods twice a day for thirty minutes. The plants have been out of the medium for 6 days and The problem I'm having is after a day or two the changing the water I end up with the ph being way to high. I wanna know what may cause this cuz I don't wanna ruin the crop or stress them to much. By the way I an using RO water. Any else is greatly appreciated. I'll be starting a page here shortly for the entire grow for anyone that is interested. Thanks.

2. Wow I feel completely retarded but as soon as I posted that I realized that my problem is the ph going UP! sorry for any confusion.

3. Hi..

Couple of ?'s... What is the Ph when you start?... after a couple of days?
    I do the Lucas formula (with GH) and I start with 7.0 r/o water, and after I mix the nutes, it's around 5.2, so I have to add PH up to get it to 5.8. I also wait for 12-24 hours before I do the Ph adjustment, then I add it to my reservoir.

Thanks

4. Your nutrient concentration is to weak. You have to make it a little bit stronger. Whats happening is the plants are consuming all of the fertilizer in the water. The fertilizer reduces the pH because it's acidic. So as the plants eat the fertilizer in the water the pH will start to go up. To really see whats going on you have to monitor the ppm's and pH with meters. If your going to grow hydro a TDS and pH meter is a must have.

good luck!