another dumb q.....

Discussion in 'Coco Coir' started by euphoria526, Apr 14, 2020.

1. how long does it typically take for the coco to dry out when rehydrating bricks?
    im using CANNA coco bricks, broke a brick in half as to only use 10L, put it in my 18 g tub/container and ran water to it until its a bit of a slurry. It's sitting there and ive mixing it up every hour or so, water doesn't seem to appear to be lessening any. I started maybe 2 hours ago and its in a slurry just soaking up what it can. should I just leave it overnight and check in the AM, or should I get another container and grab all the heavy stuff with my handstand toss it in there to dry a bit? I am a coco noob as you guys know, so I am asking out of genuine curiosity. I do not have an exact water amount I throw in, just wanted to make sure it was nice and hydrated before I start germination.
    I want everything %200 ready before I germinate. just a seamless process lol

2. Scoop out what floats and put it in another bucket.......throw out the sludge in the bottom.

3. Let the water drain off.

4. that's what im leaning on, there technically shouldn't be too much smaller particles, CANNA and all, but you've worked with a ton more than I have for bricks lol. so the coco cludge at the bottom won't clog any pipes? im in an apt building
    there isn't anywhere to drain, slid container, not drainable.

5. ok, grabbing another container and about to scoop by hand, still just worried about clogging shower drains ro toilet pipes

6. Hon, when a smart person doesn't know something, they ask someone who does know. NOT asking those questions, is what is dumb!

Granny :wave:

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. that is very true, especially since im venturing in an area that ive never tried with coco. lol
    going to start scooping and squeezing the big stuff, still just curious/ worried about dumping the residual stuff down the drain/ toilet

8. Id use the toilet.