Amsterdam 2013 : Myths + to go to coffeeshops.

Discussion in 'Marijuana News' started by EuroWeed, Jan 4, 2013.

1. Hello fellow blades , I decided to make a thread about Amsterdam since i saw alot of false information floating around the forums concerning the weedpass etc.

First off let me introduce myself. I'm a 20 year old student in Amsterdam ( Audio Engineering ) and I've been living there for about 2 years now ( moved from Belgium ). I love to smoke and am pretty interested in coffeeshop culture in a whole. I try to keep up to date with all the marihuana news.

Myths

- Tourist aren't able to buy weed in Amsterdam anymore
    = FALSE. The weedpass has only been introduced in the borders of the netherlands to limit drug trafficking. Amsterdam's mayor decided that tourist are still able to buy marihuana in the coffeeshops. Everyone is welcome for atleast another 3-4 years. I do not believe that they will ever close the coffeeshops.

- Strains do NOT contain more than 15 percent THC.
    = FALSE. There have been rumors about a law that would limit the amount of THC in the marihuana but again , this law has been discarded.

- You can smoke marihuana everywhere in Amsterdam
    = FALSE. There are certain red-zones where smoking marihuana is forbidden.
    The cops won't bother you though as long as you stay away from children or large crowded areas when smoking. You won't get a fine if you do , only a warning.

- Marihuana is very expensive in Amsterdam
    = DEPENDS. The rule of thumb here is that the closer you are to Centraal Station , the pricier the weed is. Some coffeeshops ( Greenhouse , Barney's ) do charge somewhat more for their weed because of their brand name. Keep this in mind ! On the flipside , they do have some very good quality weed. It's up to the buyer !

Last but not least i'd like to give a small list with some of my favorite coffeeshops. These have a really good price/quality ratio .

De tweede kamer - AMAZING hash !