Advice on Stealth Box for Lowryder?

Discussion in 'Grow Room Design/Setup' started by mental paint, May 16, 2008.

1. I'm about to get started building my first grow cabinet. I'm a relative noob, but not completely so - e.g. I've helped a friend/housemate with several soil grows under HPS in a 3x3 closet. My own project has to be a bit more stealth, and also portable because I'll be moving in about 4 months. Partly for stealth and partly because I'll be moving soon, I've decided to grow some Lowryder 2 in a small cabinet.

Cabinet
    I was thinking of building the box out of an IKEA dresser. The outside dimensions of the dresser are 31.5W x 18.5D x 48H (inches), so there should be a bit more than 3.5 square feet of floor space inside the cab, with about 46" inches of useable vertical space. Any idea how many Lowryders would fit in there? Or other strains that could be grown comfortably in a space of this size?

One reason I like the IKEA dresser is that it would be relatively easy to convert the drawer-fronts into a false door - should end up looking pretty inconspicuous if done right. Also, there's the possibility of pairing the dresser with the matching TV cabinet in the future (TV cab is about 3'W x 2'D x 5'H). After getting some more experience growing, the master plan is to convert the dresser into a mother/clone/veg chamber plus drying cabinet, and use the TV cabinet as a flowering chamber. So this ultimate purpose might influence the way I decide to do the current setup for the Lowryders (e.g. it would be better to buy equipment that I can keep using once I've got both chambers going).

Lights
    OK, my big questions are about lighting/ventilation. Obviously I want as much light as possible for my plants, but how much wattage can I realistically cram into this relatively small box?