7 days old how do they look

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by prohet, Jan 17, 2013.

1. Hey guys,

I am new to growing, and I would appreciate your opinion...!

My seedlings are 7 days old, under 7x 23w 6500k (600w equivalent) and 1 40w 2700k (150w equivalent) CFL. The lamps are about 4 inch above the plants. I am using distilled water, and have a fan running for air flow. The temperature is a constant 73F.

How do you think each of the seedlings are looking (I watered them a few hours ago)? The growing is slow, but that is probably due to the root system being developed. Since I have not come across live cannabis plants before, I am not sure what to think as they look somewhat sad to me.

Thanks a bunch!

Attached Files:

2. Update: this morning, the two that looked droopy yesterday, and less droopy today!

3. the droopiness comes from overwatering, otherwise theyre fine. worry less.

4. Fantastic! Less watering it will be.. I might try out every other day...

5. You really only need to water once every three or four days depending on how fast your growing medium dries.

Try sticking your finger in the soil an inch or two deep. If its dry then water, if you feel moisture wait.

Another option is to lift the cups. If they're heavy wait, if they feel light go. Pour out a cup of dry soil to compare at first.

You really need to let the soil dry completely out. Letting the soil dry promotes root development and ensures that you won't get root rot.

Biggest mistake that new growers commit (I know I did) is over-watering.

Other than that, plants look really solid and your soil mixture looks pretty close to spot on. 200W for five plants is pretty low but you can add more as you go. Basic rule of thumb is a minimum of 100W for your first plant and 50W for each additional.

Do you know anything about the genetics of your plant?

6. Thanks for your reply.