3gallonpot: roots, wtf.

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by Iscariot, Mar 26, 2006.

1. I put my plant in a three gallon pot of soil, its been growing for one month, it isn't 12inches yet, and the roots are growing outside through some growholes in the buttom. What the hell, I was led to believe that a 5-3 gallon pot could support a big plant, what is going on here? the plant isn't sick yet, but what the hell?

2. Well not growing out I can just see them, wait, is this normal?

3. hi mate im no expert but i would re pot asap good luck

4. Anyone else I would like to make this decision quickly, but i need to know if I should. If I actually do need to repot I will next like six gallons of soil for a 2foot tall plant, that seems backwords.

5. You can keep it in that pot. It will just stay the same size. I would repot if i noticed roots. Bigger the pot bigger the plant will get.

6. If it went into flowering are you saying it won't grow any bigger? the thing isn't even a full foot tall yet.

For it to grow to two feet if I were to assume the roots would go at the same rate I would need a pot of six gallons of soil, if I wanted 3 feet it would be nine gallons of soil?

So, what the hell?

7. I was under the impression that 1 foot of plant = 1 gallon of soil. Not 9-10 inches = 10 inches = 3 gallons.

:eek:

8. dude dont even think theres a rule for how big a plant can get in what ever planter, i have a 2 ft fall plant in a 4"x4" container... sure roots are matted but i just dont have room to transplant it.. its got 16 sets of brances already... roots grow faster then the plant man just let it go and watch.

EDIT: sry quick post there, must be the strains you grow. different strains dont grow as fast, i luckly have my dad who has been breeding for 22 years now :)

9. Can anyone else confirm this? not that I don't trust you, I just want to be completely positive first.