3 Part System?

Discussion in 'Smoking Accessories Q&A' started by Xeniar, Aug 12, 2011.

1. My cousin got me a 14.5mm Roor diffused downstem (pic below) as a gift without realizing that the bong I have doesnt work with it... :eek:
    I really liked it however, so I decided to get a bong that works with it. As I was browsing GC's collection of bongs I came across multiple references to wether I wanted a "3 Part System" or not. What exactly does this mean?

[​IMG]

2. bong+downstem+bowl=3 part system

3. As opposed to...? Sorry, this is my first time building a bong from the downstem. I normally just go to a headshop and buy one I like so I never had to worry about compatibility issues or know the terminology.

4. Xeniar, I seriously just recommend taking the downstem to a headshop with you (ASSUMING IT'S CLEAN) and choose a bong locally according to which one fits your downstem.

Buying online is very tricky, you have to take into account that your downstem might be longer than what the bong you ordered is. Shopping in person lets you physically make sure that the bong you choose fits your downstem.

Or, you could just fuck all this guessing and checking a snag a matching ROOR :smoke:

5. Haha, ya I was trying to avoid going to the headshop but I have to agree with that logic.

I kinda wish there was a way to contact the artist/company who makes it to ask them specification questions for times like these.

Thanks for the input tho.

6. Like the above said, 3 piece is bowl, downstem, and bong.

A 2 piece system would be like a bong with like a grommet style downstem, like this-

[​IMG]

7. In other words?

2 Part System = No Slider but Shotgun Hole
    3 Part System = Slider, no hole.

The specific bong im looking at is this one:
    http://www.grasscity.com/us_en/icebong.html