12/12 from seed, how long?

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by growprodigy, Sep 1, 2013.

1. What up blades, I just started this plant about 3 weeks ago. I was wondering how long it will take to start flowering? This is my first time going 12/12 from seed.

Sent from my HTCONE using Grasscity Forum mobile app

2. I usually see first flowers at around the sixth node.

3. It took me 30 days after sprout until I could tell the sex of the plant for me when I did 12/12 from seed.

4. I vegged my plant for a little over 2 weeks and then switched to flower. It's 31 days old and 14 days into flower, she just started showing pistils 2 days ago. The top cola is starting to form and it looks awesome, I can't wait to see how it turns out

5. Usually depends on a few factors. Genetics, food and light are all variables that can affect timeline.

6. #6 janemba, Sep 2, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 2, 2013
    from seed, the minimum time i wait is 2 months or 2ft to start 12/12. once in flowering depending on genetics you can start seeing flowers 1-2 weeks.

curious, did you start the seed under 12/12, or are you asking when to switch to 12/12

the plant may get acclimated to the 12/12 schedule right off the get go, and will go on thinking this is the normal light period.
    this will be debated, but the plants flowering cycle is triggered but a consistent photo period change. not so much from the 12/12 cycle.
    example. i had some plants that grew up under 24hrs of light a day for approx 3 months. then i changed the veg time from 18/6 just for shits and giggles. what happend was the change in photo period triggered flowering. so i quickly turned it back to the 24 schedule.

so if you started the seed on the 12/12 schedule, it will not flower until you change the photo period