100% Perlite

Discussion in 'Hydroponic Growing' started by THCKushGod, Oct 11, 2014.

1. Im thinking about growing in a 100% perlite medium. I'll be using a 2 gallon bucket with a drainage hole about 2 inches above the bottom on the side of the pot. My questions are, if I use this method, will the feeding of the nutes be any different from a soil grow? Would it be better if I did a 15-20% gravel and 80-85% perlite mix for better root anchorage and more weight?

2. #2 charlie2000, Oct 11, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 11, 2014
    [SUB]What you're describing is a hempy bucket. I have been using hempy buckets for the past five years or so. I started with soil but after a couple of years I switched to the hempy bucket and never looked back. I use only perlite and nothing else but I use the large chunk perlite not the gravel size. The problem in getting the large chunk is that my hydro stores only sell it in these huge ass bags that go for around $70.  Basically this method is known as a passive hydro system. Passive because their is no motors or moving parts.The nutes will be different. I used GH nutes for years and switched recently to advanced nutrients. Basically you just follow the directions on the back but most will tell you never use full strength. I also use 2 gallon buckets but am currently having issues with my one plant that may be related to using a 2 gallon bucket. In fact I have a post on the same page as this one titled 'transplanting from a 2 gallon to a 5 gallon hempy bucket'. I am thinking of switching to a 3 gallon or maybe even a 5 gallon bucket for future grows. If using 100% perlite stability may be an issue. When the plant becomes too big or top heavy it may start to lean...a lot. So I generally have to tie the plant to keep it from falling over. My feeding schedule is basically feed-skip a day-feed-skip a day-flush-repeat. Oh and the biggest difference is the ph. For the hempy bucket the ph is 5.2-5.8. Soil is higher at around 6.5 I