Aeroponics and pH

Discussion in 'Aeroponics' started by growdivide, Mar 29, 2011.

1. I am new to the aeroponics world and I am having some trouble with the pH. I just bought a Botanicare that holds 24 girls. I have previously been doing full soil using Foxfarm and I was told from the local Grow shop that using the same nutes would be fine. (Minus using different Grow Big) Anyway my problem is I add everything pH it at about 5.8 or so. After a couple hours the pH has moved up to 8 plus and no matter what I do it will keep changing and going back up everyday. Please help with any changes or anything I'm not doing or doing wrong. I'm just new to Hydro so unfamiliar with it. Thank you in advance!

2. what do you use for nutes and in what amounts? what stage of growth are your plants in? what type of lighting are you using and how close it is to your plants?

give me a little more detail and maybe i can help but it sounds like your girls are using up N faster than you can give it to them. try adding a little N to your solution as you see your ph drift. also, setting your ph at 5.2 when you begin helps with the drift.

3. #3 Donnyman, Apr 13, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 13, 2011
    Dunny: how critical is PH?...
    Is it far more critical than PPM's in relation to keeping the number pretty much dead on your goal reading?...

My PH tends to drop, probably a full point (8 gal. res., reciculating) every two days!...

I use two 600W HPS bulbs (cooled) and a nute chiller that maintains 68*!...
    My girls went to 12/12 8 days ago or so!...

*edit* I use GenHydro FloraGro, FloraMicro and FloraBloom (along with Andromeda and SuperThrive)