Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Disclosure:

The statements in this forum have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration and are generated by non-professional writers. Any products described are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

Website Disclosure:

This forum contains general information about diet, health and nutrition. The information is not advice and is not a substitute for advice from a healthcare professional.

Capturing THC from vapor in oil?

Discussion in 'Apprentice Marijuana Consumption' started by vapeos, Mar 26, 2011.

1. #1 vapeos, Mar 26, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 26, 2011
    So, I'm new to using cannabis regularly in general, having been an infrequent social user in the past. But I recently started using it for medical reasons on a daily basis, so I bought a vaporizer to save wear and tear on my lungs which works well for me.

Now, I'm thinking I might want some edibles. But I'm lazy, impatient, and not much of a cook. So I started thinking, why not try to capture the cannabinoids from the vapor in oil, or perhaps butter? I could use some olive oil to dip bread in and eat, so I don't even have to cook anything. I did a little searching on this and the only thing that comes up is people saying that the vapor will mostly go through. But I wonder, why don't we just recapture the air and repeat? (This is assuming we get a decent amount each cycle.)

So...I envision a setup that infuses vapor into oil while capturing the used air to consume or reuse, like this:

1. Put oil in a fairly narrow, reasonably tall vessel so vapor is exposed to as much oil on the way up as possible. Put a few layers of saran wrap over the top (air will be pushing against this so you do want at least a couple layers probably.)