Sun Pulse Ballast Splitter with DIGITAL 1000w Ballast?

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by DubSacAssassin, Feb 26, 2011.

1. I want to run a 1000w Digital ballast with a sun pulse splitter and two 600w hps bulbs. Is this ok to do?

Here's a link to a video I found on YouTube showing a quantum digital running two 600w hps.
    [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SuLsUApPjCo&feature=youtube_gdata_player]YouTube - (1) 1000 Watt BALLAST POWERS (2) 600 watt Bulbs! Sun Pulse Splitter Monster Gardens[/ame]

Is this all just marketing jive? I would assume the digital dimmable ballasts should be able to handle this no problem...

2. Yes, these splitters are designed to run two 600s with the 1000W. You have to use the sun pulse bulbs though.

3. Does anyone know or tried this out yet?

4. I use the splitter with a pair of 600w SunPulse bulbs. Either two 3k lamps or a 3k and a 10k. I've been using this setup for about 6 months and will only buy Sun Pulse bulbs now. Also have a 1000w Hps in same room but I like the results of the 600w SunPulse better. They run a lot cooler than the Hps. I will be changing from the Hps to a single 1000w 3k SunPulse in the next day or two as I dont have enough money right now for the splitter,two bulbs and a pair of hoods. Maybe next year when i replace the 1000w bulb I will upgrade to the two 600w bulbs.

Cptrips

5. Hey trip thanks for stopping by! Those sunpulse lamps sure are attractive!! I haven't tried them out yet but I have found that the splitter is not so effective when it comes to light output...Personally I prefer to run 1 600w bulb per ballast as i feel the output is alot greater especially on the super lumens setting. I will be trying 2 400w mh bulbs on a 1000w lumatek as soon as I can get the bulbs.

The sunpulse splitter does work as advertised but the bulbs just don't get very bright when running 2 600's.

6. Hey Dub,