Vaporizer Silicone Tubing: Cleaning & Care...

Discussion in 'Vaporizers' started by v12v12, Apr 14, 2010.

1. Just wondering what all types of tubing (high temp silicone is a MUST) everyone is using and how they clean/care for it. I've been a vap vet for many many years, and for the life of me, I cannot find a sure-fire way to keep my precious and costly silicone, clear and clean for longer than a few months... before it starts looking like Gnutella hazelnut-brown, and the smell; WHOOOOO it reeks! I've tried EVERYTHING from hot, highly concentrated acid/bases, citric acid, household cleaners, to even the mighty Grunge-off; nothing seems to work beyond the "browning point."

A few things of importance; the current tubing I'm using is peroxide-cured, meaning that in a nutshell it's stronger, more durable/heat resistant vs platinum tubing. Platinum-cured tubing is much more inert and often used exclusively in the medical industry, esp where fluid transfer and inertness is of concern. I haven't ponied up for Plat-tubing yet, but I think I'll give it a try once this tube goes sour... I'm not sure the benefits justify the extra expense; this tubing is about $3 per foot and readily available on ebay. Platinum-tubing is much more expensive and isn't sold in smaller, vape friendly sized lines. Min tubing orders are ~25-50ft@+$5/ft for the Plat-bling tubing!

__I'm not uber cheap, but I don't like wasting expensive tubing that still functions, albeit smelly and looking terrible... I've got spares, but I really would like some opinions. In the end, I'll just bag this tube up and grab a fresh replacement, only to watch/smell the cycle start again and money down the tubes (haha sorry)...

2. Damn... Nothing at all? Sometimes I don't understand this "community" at all; takes mere seconds to post any advice (aside from trash it lol)...