3rd Shift. How do you deal with it?

Discussion in 'General' started by TheRoeBiz, Oct 27, 2007.

1. Does anyone else at the city work a full time job on 3rd shit? I've been doing it for about six months now and it's starting to turn me into a freaking zombie. I just spent a Friday Night smoking Dank and watching bewitched because I felt to run down to go out. How the fuck do you guys deal with the endless night and constant tiredness?

2. Is 3rd shift the same as graveyard shift? If so, then yes.

I've been doing it part time since about May, and my husband works graveyard at the same place, about 50-60 hours a week.

It's definitely taken a big bite out of my social life, but I think it's an interesting experience overall. It's nice being able to sleep any time of the day without feelin' like a couch potato, and it's cool to be able to drink at 8am, because you're about to go to bed anyway. ;)

I guess it's easier to deal with because I have friends who have the same schedule. I've got like 6 good friends who work at the same place, so they're pretty much the only people I see a lot of lately.

As much as it sucks sometimes, I'd definitely rather be getting off work at 7am than getting up for work.

3. I can't really say from first hand experience, but my mom worked in the ER as a nurse 7 pm to 7 am Friday Saturday and Sunday every other weekend, and sometimes during the week. I don't really know what to say to help you but it seemed like she started to live with less sleep and eventually it was just a normal thing.

I suggest not letting the excuse of 'I worked all night' allow you to sleep all day. Try to set a schedule like.. Maybe wake up at noon and go run or something. Your internal clock should work itself out if you have somewhat of a stable schedule.

4. Oh, I completly agree that I'd rather be getting off work than getting up at 7. I just can't stand waking up eairly every day without an end in site.